Print this article

EC to meet President on Monday to submit full list of LS members

May 16, 2009 20:15 IST

The Election Commission will formally submit the list of newly-elected Lok Sabha members to President Pratibha Patil on Monday.

The new House is constituted by the Election Commission which does that job within two to three days after the results are declared.

A Rashtrapati Bhavan official said the three-member Commission headed by Navin Chawla and comprising S Y Quraishi and V S Sampat will call on the President at 6 PM. The President will make the customary address to the first and brief joint session of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha marking the beginning of the new House.

Before convening the new session, the President will administer oath to pro-tem speaker, the senior most among the elected members, for swearing-in of new members.

© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.