» Election » Bihar turns into political graveyard for Union Ministers

Bihar turns into political graveyard for Union Ministers

Source: PTI
May 17, 2009 18:12 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Bihar virtually turned into a political graveyard for eight high-profile Union Ministers in the United Progressive Alliance government, who were rejected by the people of the state despite the fact that the ruling coalition was inching towards a massive victory elsewhere.

Railway Minister and Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Lalu Prasad suffered a humiliating defeat in Patliputra Lok Sabha constituency at the hands of his friend-turned-foe Ranjan Prasad Yadav, but salvaged some pride by trouncing Bharatiya Janata Party rival Rajiv Pratap Rudy in Saran.

Lok Janshakti Party President Ramvilas Paswan, who was in the Union Cabinet in all governments since 1996, suffered a shocking defeat in Hajipur. Paswan had represented this seat seven times in 1977, 1980, 1989, 1996, 1998, 1999 and 2004.

In another major casualty, Union Minister of State for Human Resources and three-time RJD MP from Darbhanga Mohd Ali Ashraf Fatmi lost to BJP's Kirti Azad by over 46,000 votes.

Union Minister Shakeel Ahmed was defeated by Hukumdeo Narain Yadav of BJP in Madhubani Lok Sabha seat. Union Ministers Kanti Singh and Raghunath Jha, both RJD candidates, lost from Karakat and Valmikinagar constituency respectively.

Union Ministers Taslimuddin (Kishanganj), Jaiprakash Narayan Yadav (Banka), Akhilesh Prasad Singh (East Champaran) too lost the elections.

However, Union Minister Meira Kumar (Cong) won Sasaram (SC) Lok Sabha. Another Union Minister Raghuvansh Prasad Singh of RJD, widely considered the man behind UPA government's flagship National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme, retained Vaishali seat.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

More like this