Print this article

21 new faces from Bihar in the 15th Lok Sabha

Last updated on: May 17, 2009 16:35 IST
The electorate of Bihar seems to have voted for a change as 21 of state's 40 Members of Parliament in the 15th Lok Sabha have been elected for the first time.

The candidates of the ruling Janata Dal-United who have made their maiden entry to the Lok Sabha are--Baidyanath Mahto from Valmikinagar, Arjun Rai (Sitamarhi), Vishwamohan Kumar (Supaul), Ashwamedh Devi (Ujiarpur), Mangni Lal Mandal (Jhanjharpur) and Ranjan Prasad Yadav from Pataliputra .

Besides, other first timers from the party include, Maheshwar Hazari (Samastipur), Monazir Hasan (Begusarai), Kaushalendra Kumar (Nalanda), Jagdish Sharma (Jehanabad), Mahabali Singh (Karakat) and Bhudev Choudhary from Jamui.

The Bharatiya Janata Party new faces from the state include Sanjay Jaiswal (West Champaran), Pradeep Kumar Singh (Araria), Shatrughan Sinha (Patna Saheb), Hari Manjhi (Gaya) and Bhola Singh (Nawada).

Besides, Rashtriya Janata Dal's Umashanker Singh (Maharajganj) and Jagdanand Singh (Buxar), Congress' Asrarul Haq (Kishanganj) and Independent Om Prakash Yadav (Siwan) have also won for the first time.

On the other hand, the sitting MPs who made it to the Lok Sabha are RJD's Lalu Prasad (Saran) and Raghuvansh Prasad from Vaishali. Besides, BJP nominees Nikhil Choudhary (Katihar), Uday Singh (Purnia), Syed Shahnawaz Husain (Bhagalpur) have also retained their seat.

Prominent among the members of the 14th Lok Sabha who will not be seen in the new house include Union ministers Ramvilas Paswan of Lok Janshakti Party, Raghunath Jha, Akhilesh Prasad Singh, M A A Fatmi, Taslimuddin, Jaiprakash Narayan Yadav, Kanti Singh (all RJD) and Shakeel Ahmed (Congress) all of whom lost.

Three important MPs known for their muscle power-- Mohd Shahabuddin (Siwan), Pappu Yadav (Madhepura) and Surajbhan Singh (Balia), all convicted in serious offences were barred from contesting as the courts did not stay their convictions.

The spouses of all three contested and lost. RJD president Lalu Prasad's estranged brother-in-law Aniruddh Prasad alias Sadhu Yadav, sitting MP from Gopalganj who lost from West Champaran as Congress nominee, former JD-U parliamentary party leader Prabhunath Singh, who was defeated from Maharajganj and former National Democratic Alliance convenor George Fernandes, who lost from Muzaffarpur, are other prominent faces who would not be seen in action in the new house.

Others who lost the elections are: Sitaram Singh (Sheohar), Sitaram Yadav (Sitamarhi), Devendra Prasad Yadav (Jhanjharpur), Alok Kumar Mehta (Ujiarpur), Giridhari Yadav (Banka), R K Rana (Khagaria), Ramkripal Yadav (Patna), Ganesh Prasad Singh (Jehanabad), Virchandra Paswan (Nawada), Rajesh Kumar Manjhi (Gaya) and Vijay Krishna (all RJD) will also not be there either because of having lost, denied ticket or their seats becoming extinct due to delimitation.

Ramchandra Paswan of LJP (Samastipur), younger brother of Ramvilas Paswan lost, while Ranjeet Ranjan, sitting MP from Supaul, who contested as Congress nominee this time, was also defeated.

Kailash Baitha, sitting MP from Bagaha, now extinct, was denied ticket and so was Sukhdev Paswan of BJP from Araria, the seat which was dereserved after last year's delimitation.

Ramswaroop Prasad of JD-U, who fought as Congress nominee from Nalanda was defeated and so were BJP's Lalmuni Choubey (Buxar) and Nikhil Kumar (Aurangabad).

© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.