» Election » UPA tally goes up to 261, NDA finishes with 159

UPA tally goes up to 261, NDA finishes with 159

Source: PTI
May 17, 2009 17:50 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Congress has won 206 seats in the Lok Sabha polls and its allies 55 in the 542 results officially declared on Sunday.

Trinamool Congress has emerged as the largest ally with 19 seats followed by Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam with 18, Nationalist Congress Party with nine, National Conference-three, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and Muslim League two each and one each from Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi and Kerala Congress (Mani).

The United Progress Alliance with a total strength of 261 and needs 11 more to touch the magic figure of 272 for a majority.

In the results for 542 of the 543 seats declared by the Election Commission of India, the Bharatiya Janata Party has won 116 seats and its National Democratic Alliance allies 43.

The result for Chandauli in Uttar Pradesh is yet to be declared. NDA ally Janata Dal-United secured 20, all from Bihar followed by Shiv Sena bagging 11, Ajit Singh's Rashtriya Lok Dal got five, Shiromoni Akali Dal-4, Telangana Rashtra Samithi-2 and Assam Gana Parishad-1.

The NDA has a total tally of 159. The Third Front ended with 78 seats. The Bahujan Samaj Party emerged as the largest party with 21 seats followed by Communist Party of India-Marxist with 16 seats, Biju Janata Dal-14, All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam-9, Telugu Desam Party-6, Communist Party of India-4, Janata Dal-Secular-3, Revolutionary Socialist Party-2, Forward Bloc-2, and Marumalarachi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam-1.

The Fourth Front comprising Samajwadi Party, Rashtriya Janata Dal and Lok Janshakti Party could manage only 26 seats. The SP led by Mulayam Singh Yadav got the largest chunk with 22 while Lalu Prasad's RJD won four with Ram Vilas Paswan's LJP of drawing a blank.

Of the remaining 17 seats, nine were won by Independents followed by one each by 8 parties--All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha, Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi, Sikkim Democratic Front, Nagaland Peoples' Front, Swabhimani Paksha, Bodoland Peoples' Front and Assam United Democratic Front.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

More like this