NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Election » PM, Council of Ministers resign

PM, Council of Ministers resign

Last updated on: May 18, 2009 14:57 IST

President Pratibha Patil today dissolved the 14th Lok Sabha with immediate effect paving the way for constitution of the new House which is expected later this month.

The President signed an order to this effect following a recommendation from the outgoing government.

"The Union Cabinet has recommended to the President to dissolve the 14th Lok Sabha with immediate effect. The President has accepted the recommendations and signed an order dissolviong the 14th Lok Sabha," a spokesperson said.

Earlier, the Cabinet adopted a resolution moved by External Affairs Minister Pranab Mukherjee, who is also Leader
of the Lok Sabha, for dissolution of the House. It was seconded by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

Earlier, the Prime Minister has resigned along with the Council of Ministers.

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.