» Election » Number of Muslim MPs in Lok Sabha drops

Number of Muslim MPs in Lok Sabha drops

By Delhi Bureau
May 20, 2009 18:44 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The number of the Muslim MPs elected to the new Lok Sabha has dropped  to 28, including four from the Muslim-majority Jammu and Kashmir, in  contrast to the dissolved House having 34 Muslim MPs.

Going by the Muslim population in the country, it should have at least 72 representatives in the 543-member Lok Sabha but that appears to be an elusive goal as their number are coming down.

Prominent Muslim leaders making it to the Lok Sabha are Minister of  State for External Affairs, E Ahmad, former UP Congress chief Salman  Khurshid and cricket Mohammed Azharuddin.

The List of Muslim MPs elected to the 15th Loks Sabha

Asadudduin Owaisi, of the Majlise-Ittehadul-Musliameen from Hyderabad,
Andhra Pradesh,

Badruddin Ajmal Qasmi of the Assam United Democratic Front from Dhubri in Assam,

Ismail Hussain of the Congress from Barpeta in Assam,

Mohammed Israrul Haque Qasmi of the Congress from Kishanganj in Bihar,

Manazir Husain of Janata Dal-United from Begum Sarai in Bihar,

Shahnawaz Husain of the Bhartiya Janata Party from Bhagulpur in Bihar,

Sharifuddin Sharique,of the National Conference from Baramulla in Jammu and Kashmir,

Farooq Abdullah of the National Conference from Srinagar in Jammu & Kashmir,

Peer Mohammed Husain of the National Conference from Anantnaag in Jammu & Kashmir,

Hasan Khan, an independent from Ladakh in Jammu & Kashmir,

E Ahmad of the Muslim Leaguefrom Mallaparam in Kerala,

ET Mohammed Basheer of the Muslim League from Ponani in Kerala,

Abdul Rehmanof the  Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam,from Vellore in Tamil Nadu,

Harun Rasheed of the Congress from Thaini in Tamil Nadu,

Tabassum Begum of the Bahujan Samaj Party from Kairana in Uttar Pradesh,

Qadir Rana, of the Bahujan Samaj Party from Muzaffar Nagar in Uttar Pradesh,

Mohammed Azharuddin of the Congress from Moradabad in Uttar Pradesh,

Shafiqur Rehman Barq of the Bahujan Samaj Party from Sumbhal in Uttar Pradesh,

Zafar Ali Naqwi of the Congress from Khairi in Uttar Pradesh,

Qaiser Jahan,of the Bahujan Samaj Party from Sitapur in Uttar Pradesh,

Salman Khurshidof the Congress from Farrukhabad in Uttar Pradesh,

Mausam Noor of the Congress from Malda-North in West Bengal,

Hashim Khan Choudhary of the Congress from Malda in West Bengal,

A B Mannan Husain of the Congress from Murshidabad in West Bengal,

Noorul Islam of the Trinamul Congress from Bashirhut in West Bengal,

Sultan Ahmad of the Trinamul Congress from Aluberia in West Bengal,

Shaikh Sadiqul Haque of the Communist Party of India-Marxist from Burdwan in West Bengal

and Mohammed Hamdullah Sayeed of the Congress from Lakshadweep.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Delhi Bureau