» Election » Tamil Nadu: DMK-led front won in most constituencies

Tamil Nadu: DMK-led front won in most constituencies

Source: PTI
May 21, 2009 12:44 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Leading in a majority of the constituencies, an assembly wise segment analysis of the May 13 Lok Sabha results from Tamil Nadu reveals that it was just a reflection of the 2006 assembly polls.

Though the Dravida Munnettra Kazhagam front had a lesser number of parties in its fold this time, it led in 163 assembly constituencies, compared to 69 of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam-led five party front.

The 2006 assembly polls saw DMK fighting the elections with Congress, Pattali Makkal Katchi and Left parties. But on the eve of the Lok Sabha polls, all allies, barring Congress, joined the AIADMK, which had Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam and Viduthalai Chiruthigal Katchi as partners.

But the VCK switched over to the DMK front this time.

In the 2009 polls, 11 Lok Sabha seats saw a fight between DMK and AIADMK, in which DMK led in 44 assembly segments against AIADMK's 22. The Congress, which faced AIADMK in 11 seats, gained the upper hand in 44 seats and AIADMK in 22. The VCK, which faced PMK and AIADMK in one each, led in nine assembly segments- all six in Chidambaram, where it was pitted against PMK and three in Villupuram.

The AIADMK had a lead in three assembly segments of Villupuram seat. CPI, which fought DMK in two seats, established a lead only in two assembly segments, while DMK overtook it in others. But it could draw comfort from leading the Congress in four assembly segments at Tenkasi, the only seat won by it.

In contests between DMK and PMK in five seats, DMK was up in 29 and PMK could establish a lead only in one -- Maduravoil in Sriperumbudur -- where its nominee A K Murthy faced DMK's T R Baalu. Incidentally, it was the only segment where the PMK led in the polls.

The CPI-M, which faced the Congress in two seats, led only in four assembly segments against six by the Congress. The Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam contested 39 seats, but could not lead in any. MDMK and DMK clashed in two seats and the former led only in two assembly segments.

But against the Congress, MDMK led in seven assembly segments against five by Congress. MDMK chief Vaiko, who contested the Virudunagar seat, had led in three assembly segments, but ultimately lost the polls. Union Home Minister P Chidambaram had led in three assembly segments like his rival Raja Kannappan of the AIADMK.

Two assembly segments -- Tirumayam and Alangudi in Pudukottai district gave solid backing to Chidambaram, besides his native Karaikudi. In the 2006 assembly polls, DMK got 96 seats, AIADMK 61, Congress 34, PMK 18, Communist Party of India - Marxist nine, Communist Party of India eight, MDMK 6, VCK two and DMDK one each.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.