» Election » Dr Singh to take oath at 6.30 pm on Friday

Dr Singh to take oath at 6.30 pm on Friday

By By our Delhi correspondent
Last updated on: May 21, 2009 21:06 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Dr Manmohan Singh will take oath for his second term as the prime minister on Friday at 6.30 pm at the Ashok Hall in Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

Though the wrangling over the allocation of ministerial berths continues among the Congress and its allies in the United Progressive Alliance, Dr Singh is likely to take oath along with 64 ministers and ministers of state, as sources in the Rashtrapati Bhavan informed that 65 chairs are being accommodated for the oath-taking ceremony.

The Rashtrapati Bhavan has already started sending out the invitations for the event.

Former Presidents, vice presidents, former prime ministers and all the newly elected members of Parliament have been invited to attend the oath-taking ceremony.

Delhi Lieutenant Governor Tejendra Khanna and Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit are the special invitees to the event.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
By our Delhi correspondent