NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » West Indies put Australia into bat

West Indies put Australia into bat

March 27, 2007 19:16 IST

West Indies skipper Brian Lara won the toss in their opening Super Eights match with holders Australia on Tuesday and put them into bat.

Australia stuck with the 11 who beat top-ranked South Africa convincingly on Saturday in their final Group A match, giving them a 100 percent record from their three matches.

West Indies made one change, swapping Ian Bradshaw for fast bowler Corey Collymore, from their comfortable win over Ireland.

The conditions were overcast and windy and Lara told reporters he thought the pitch would be of help to the seamers.


Australia- Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting (captain), Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Michael Hussey, Shane Watson, Brad Hogg, Nathan Bracken, Shaun Tait, Glenn McGrath.

West Indies- Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Marlon Samuels, Brian Lara (captain), Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Denesh Ramdin, Corey Collymore, Jerome Taylor, Daren Powell.

© Copyright 2013 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.