» Election » NCP retains Tura, Congress wins Shillong

NCP retains Tura, Congress wins Shillong

Source: PTI
May 16, 2009 17:36 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Nationalist Congress Party candidate Agatha Sangma, daughter of former Lok Sabha Speaker P A Sangma, retained Tura parliamentary seat in Meghalaya, while the Congress won the Shillong seat.

Agatha, who is the sitting MP, polled 1,54,476 votes compared to 1,36,531 votes by closest rival Deborah Marak of Congress.

She won by a slender margin 17,945 votes as compared to nearly 1 lakh margin in the by-poll which saw the 28-year-old make her debut in Parliament last year.

Significantly, Tura had been a stronghold of nine-time MP P A Sangma who always defeated his rivals by huge margins. In 2004, he had defeated Congress Mukul Sangma by 72,000 votes.

The Congress retained Shillong with its candidate Vincent Pala defeating United Democratic Party-BJP combine nominee John Kharshiing by 1,07,868 votes.Pala polled 2,32,270 votes, while Kharshiing bagged 1,24,402 votes. Hill State Peoples Democratic Party's P B M Basaiawmoit was placed a distant third with 97,613 votes. The four other candidates in the fray in Shillong forfeited their security deposits.

Meghalaya Democratic Party president Martle M Mukhim got 8,782 votes, Dalington Dympep of CPI polled 6,698 votes, and two Independents Denis Siangshai and Tierod Passah bagged 6,934 and 3,207 votes respectively.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.